Texas Approved Online
Driver Education

Frequently Asked Questions

Parent Taught Driver Ed FAQ

Parent Taught Drivers Ed - Getting Started:

Every first time teen driver applying for the Texas Parent Taught Drivers Ed will also need to get a PTDE packet from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). You can request the form online from the TDLR website. You should receive your PTDE packet within 3 weeks by mail, or you can request to have it emailed to you. Once you receive your packet, then you are ready to start the online course.

What is the age requirement for Texas PTDE course?

You must be at least 14 years old to begin the Online Parent Taught course. And you must be at least 15 years old and have completed the first section of the online course to apply for your Texas learner's permit. Once you have your learner's permit you can start your behind the wheel training.

Who can be my instructor?

Eligible instructors include parents, step-parents, grandparents, step-grandparents, foster parent or legal guardian (a power of attorney is not eligible). These are the only relatives allowed as an instructor. Additional guidelines consist of:

  • Must have had a valid driver's license for the past three years. Individuals who have lived outside of Texas at any time in the last three years are required to bring the driving record from their former state when the student applies for the license.
  • An instructor may not have had his or her driver's license suspended, revoked or forfeited in the past three years.
  • Must have less than six points on his or her driving record.
  • Have never been convicted of or received a probated sentence for DUI, DWI or Criminally Negligent Homicide.
  • Also, must not be disabled due to mental illness.

If you are unsure if you meet these requirements, you can check your criminal record and driving record before registering. If it is found that you are not eligible to teach the PTDE Course, then none of your instruction will count and the student will not be issued a license.

How do I get my a Permit?

When you have finished the first section of the online course, you will receive form DE-946E within 3 days. Once you are 15 years of age, you will bring this form with you to your local DPS office to apply for your permit. Your Parent Taught Driver Education packet will walk you through the requirements.

How long is the course?

The online course will take at least 32 hours, as required by the state of Texas. The first section (which needs to be completed before applying for your permit) is a required 6 hours. You will be able to take breaks and work at your pace throughout the course.

What do I do once I pass the permit test?

When you have your permit, you will be able to begin the behind the wheel training with a qualified parent. You will also continue to complete the rest of the online driver's education. As explained in your PTDE packet you will need to complete a total of 44 hours of drivers training.

Will I receive a certificate after completing the online Drivers Ed?

Yes, you will be able to download your certificate at the end of course at no additional charge.

Adult Driver Ed FAQ

Why Adult Driver's Education?

In Texas, first time drivers between the age of 18 and 24 are required by the state to complete an Adult Drivers Ed course.

Is this Texas Adult Drivers Education course approved?

Yes! This is a Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) approved course that will meet the adult drivers ed requirement set forth by the TX DPS (Texas Department of Public Safety).

Is this a Defensive Driving Course?

No. Adult Driver Ed is for getting your first Texas Drivers License. Texas Defensive Driving is for clearing traffic violations. They are two different courses.

How long will it take to complete this course?

It will take you a minimum of 6 hours, as required by the state of Texas. Keep in mind you can work on the course when you have time. Save and log off whenever you need a break.

Do I get a completion certificate?

Yes, you will receive an original certificate once the course is finished. We will send it by mail and you can expect to receive it within 7-15 days. You will need this certificate to apply for your Texas Drivers License.

Copyright 2023 TexasDriverEd.com - All Rights Reserved